Good People Day 2010

I was going down my list of tweets from overnight and found one from @garyvee about Good People Day 2010. OK, so the video was really from 2008, but the date and point remains the same: It’s April 3, write about a good person.

I was going down my list of tweets from overnight and found one from @garyvee about Good People Day 2010.

OK, so the video was really from 2008, but the date and point remains the same: It’s April 3, write about a good person.

April 3? But that’s today! I got stuff to do, when am I going to find time to write about a good person?

You know what? I’m going to sit here and write it right now. As much as I want to watch Sandlot on TV (great movie), this is more important. So who is a good person?

Well, I mentioned the idea was from Gary Vaynerchuck. I discovered Gary about a week or so ago looking at random videos, which I spend more time doing than I probably should. I could sit here and tell you how Gary runs a multi-million dollar wine business and how successful and good looking he is, but I won’t do that. That’s not what makes Gary a good person.

Gary is a good person because he follows his number one rule of… while it works in business, it’s more like a Rule of Life: Care. That’s it.

I like to watch speeches. TED.com is one of my favorite websites, because I can watch a different speech every day and most of them are fascinating, even though the topics are all over the place. I’ve watched 80 or 90 TED Talks over the past year or so. In that time, I have tried to figure out what it is that makes a good speech. Is it cool PowerPoint slides or a really smart idea or something that you have in common with the speaker? No, it isn’t. It’s one thing: Care. That’s it. If the speaker cares about their topic and they can show that in their speech, they win.

What does this have to do with Gary? I mentioned I found out about him a week ago. He runs a wine business. I know nothing about wine and have no real desire to start learning. But in the past week I have watched four or five hours of Gary’s speeches. He never has any pretty props or visual effects, but he cares every freaking second.

I should make it clear that the speeches I’m watching are Gary’s about how to build your personal brand, and not wine. Even then though, I’m not a business guy. I have no real desire to start a business. That doesn’t mean that Gary hasn’t taught me a ton of stuff that I can use and inspired me to go out and Crush It.

I’ve have a Twitter account for a few months now. I have sent out almost 500 tweets and have acquired 55 followers. I never realized how awesome that is until I started watching Gary’s videos. “The fact that one person cares what I have to say is extremely humbling,” says Gary. He also says that way too many people take it for granted that they have followers on twitter or any other site. I was one of those people. Not anymore.

A few days ago I wrote about Ken Robinson’s book The Element. More than anyone I have ever seen, Gary has found his element and he lives it every second.

So after you write about a good person today, try to check out a few of Gary’s videos, get inspired and Crush It. I’m going to Borders right now to buy his book.

“The reason why we love our parents is because they loved us first,” Gary says. The reason that I care about Gary Vaynerchuck, is because he cared about me first. It’s difficult to be a better person than that.

Originally published on April 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

