The Dead Walk Into New Territory

The Walking Dead move into new territory with a zombie story for the small screen. It’ll give the creators new possibilities in exploring the genre.

As a big fan of horror films, The Walking Dead has me excited. Based on a comic book series by Robert Kirkman, The Walking Dead will be adapted as a television show on AMC. Frank Darabont, director of Stephen King’s The Mist, The Green Mile, and The Shawshank Redemption will lead the charge.

I’ve never read the comic book series, but I’ve been a zombie fan ever since I saw the original The Night of The Living Dead at a local movie theater around Halloween one year. I even took a trip to the Living Dead Festival in Evans City last year.

Of course I’ve seen all of Romero’s classics and most of the newer zombie flicks. Other than Romero, my favorite series is that of 28 Days Later… and 28 Weeks Later… (I know they aren’t the “living dead,” but they’re close enough). I was excited when I heard rumors of a third movie in the series—28 Months Later…—because a time period that far after a zombie outbreak is little explored territory. According to IMDB, 28 Months Later… has been “in development” for a while now, I’m not sure if it will happen or not.

If it succeeds and continues past the six episodes that have been green lit, The Walking Dead will have the opportunity to explore new territory within the genre, because time constraints won’t force it into the traditional zombie story box. Perhaps it won’t go two years after the outbreak, but it will at least give a more in-depth view of the survivors and their tales.

It’s exciting as well that the show is on AMC, because the network, as Kirkman said in an interview with New York Magazine, “is actually enthusiastic about pushing the limits of what can’t be shown on cable.” I haven’t watched Breaking Bad or Mad Men, but from commercials and what I’ve been told, both appear to be excellent shows.

Hopefully the world’s first zombie show can follow suit.

You can find an interview with Darabont at this location.

Leave a Reply

