Why I’m Boycotting the Buccos

Reasons why I won’t be going to a Pirates game anytime soon.

I’m still a fan of the Pittsburgh Pirates, that’s the team that plays baseball in Pittsburgh, PA.

I’m not a fan of their owner Bob Nutting, President Frank Coonelly, or Manager John Russell. General Manager Neal Huntington still has a chance.

That’s why last night was the last Pirates’ game that I will attend at PNC Park until they show me that they know what they’re doing. Because when I go to a game I feel more like I’m supporting the Seven Springs than the Pirates.

With the potential atmosphere at PNC Park every single night you seriously have to screw things up to not fill at least half the seats each game.

I understand that it isn’t completely the current ownership’s fault that we’re on the precipice of two losing decades. Huntington traded a lot of guys last season and the year before, but Xavier Nady and Damaso Marte for Jeff Karstens, Daniel McCutchen, Ross Ohlendorf and Jose Tabata really isn’t looking all that bad at the moment (well, the McCutchen and Tabata part isn’t looking all that bad).

Nobody on the Pirates is exactly tearing it up right now, but then again I’m not hearing Ian Snell or Jason Bay’s name being thrown around in MVP discussions—and the guys the Pirates have are younger.

They’re really struggling on the mound, but they targeted pitchers in the draft this year. Peter Gammons said their drafting has been good and I’ll take Gammons’s word over most. The only downside is that it’ll take a few years at least until those pitchers make it to the show, and by then who knows if we’ll have any of the upcoming guys we do now.

The management has stated that when their contracts come up, they’ll pay up. If they don’t, I am not sure I’ll be surprised—maybe by that time I’ll figure out another way to go about this boycott.

I’ve joined in with the legions of fans that complain about the team for years now, but it’s obviously not working. The only thing I have left is to not hand my money over to them anymore.

I’m not demanding a full sail cleaning out of the front office, if these guys can win than that’s great. Same thing with the players, for the most part they seem to be trying. I know it’s difficult to hear, but many of them just may not be good enough for a championship caliber team. That being said I will root for them to play as well as they can each night.

As soon as they show some effort by getting a few good ballplayers or continuing to build the prospects they have (and don’t mistake me, that doesn’t mean build these guys up and then trade them) I’ll be there buying a ticket, peanuts, and crackerjack.

Call me a fair weather fan all you want, but there’s nobody else out there who has stuck it out with a losing team longer than the Pirates fans of right now. I’ve rooted for and given my allegiance to this one team my entire life—and I’ve never even seen them have a winning season. I don’t mind giving more than I receive to a relationship, but this is getting kind of ridiculous.

P.S. I know the Phillies had one winning season from 1918-1948, so if you stuck it out through that mess and you’re actually reading my blog well, God bless you.

P.S.S. If you haven’t heard Gregg Giannotti’s multi-point plan on how to fix the Pirates’ PR it’s really worth a listen.

Leave a Reply

