The Boondock Saints II Review

My review of The Boondock Saints II: All Saints Day.

I won a drawing at my local library—ten free movie rentals! I have no clue on what I’m going to rent, ten movies will last me… a few months or maybe ten weeks. I want to review them all though.

Movie Two: The Boondock Saints II: All Saints Day

One reviewer of this film wrote that it “improves on everything that made the first film great.” I try to avoid as much as I can about films before I see them, but this one was difficult to ignore because it’s on the front cover of the DVD. Boondock Saints II does keep all of the elements from the original, but unfortunately I don’t see much improvement.

Don’t take that the wrong way, the original film is one of my favorite movies, so improving on it would be quite a challenge. After all of the turmoil that the filmmakers went through trying to get a sequel made, the multi-year gap, and the struggle it must have been to reassemble so much of the original cast I give it props for turning out as well as it did.

Obviously the Saints themselves are back and they pretty much have the same goal. Some flashbacks that flesh out the back story make it more interesting. So the characters are there, the simple-minded justice is there, the humor is there.

The first half of the film felt too slow. Things are bogged down, those crime scene recreation scenes also make a return, but they were a little much for the number of times they were used. Things got moving in the latter part of the film which saved it. Julie Benz’s character was a bit over the top, but Clifton Collins Jr. had a great performance. The soundtrack wasn’t bad per say, but it was all over the place as far as genres. 7/10

Leave a Reply

