It’s All About the Smile

“Writing isn’t about making money, getting famous, getting dates, getting laid, or making friends. In the end, it’s about enriching the lives of those who will read your work, and enriching your own life, as well. It’s about getting up, getting well, and getting over. Getting happy, okay? Getting happy.” — Stephen King

I read a quote once that said, ‘I will not go running because I have never seen anyone do it with a smile on their face’ or something like that. I wish I could remember who said it, because I have the solution for him.

If you’ve read Born to Run, you know that there’s something more to it than taking off your shoes and running down the street; happiness, having a good time, and smiling are all a big part of it too.

I cheated my training today, rather than five minutes I went two miles. I smiled the whole way.

I have never gone for a run and hurt more beforehand than during the run itself, until I took my shoes off. I worked on my form with my shoes on during the first half, got to the park and figured I would do one shoeless lap, and it felt so good that I just kept going. The only soreness I feel now are in the bottom of my feet and in my calves (although less than I had this morning) which are both to be expected.

I learned two things today, one is that hurts to run through water. This seems ironic, but I suspect it won’t be so bad as my feet toughen. It’s more beneficial to slow down and find a way around it than blast through it, which led to the second lesson: Slowing down is always an option.

Barefoot running isn’t about getting there first as much as enjoying the trip. I haven’t carried a watch for years, so I don’t know if I had a slow or fast time. I don’t really care. I just know that I was happy and that’s worth more than finishing in any amount of time.

Leave a Reply

